Practice Impressions (With Photos)

I attended practice today, and was able to observe five practice segments with the rest of the media. I focused on watching the offense, and mainly the quarterbacks. Here are my impressions, and a few photos will be posted after the jump:

  • The player that stood out to me most today was Kelvin Grady. He has great hands (only dropped one ball that I saw, and that was out of probably 15-20 passes), catches the ball with his hands instead of his body, and seems to be picking stuff up pretty well. Coach Magee worked with Kelvin on routes a couple of times, and each time he caught on quickly. I would never have guessed this before fall camp, but it looks like the younger Grady will contribute this season.
  • Mike Cox also looks good. He has nice hands out of the backfield … probably the best I saw during drills today. He also stood out in the one blocking drill I watched … got a nice pop when he blocked his man, and one of the assistants looked very pleased with his effort.
  • Tate Forcier throws the best ball of any of the quarterbacks. He has great zip on his passes and is probably the most accurate. I will say this, though: in terms of passing, Nick Sheridan has improved a ton. He still doesn’t get a lot of force behind his throws, but they aren’t the ducks he was throwing last year, and he was almost as accurate as Forcier in the few drills I saw today.
  • Denard Robinson, on the other hand, has some work to do passing the ball. Power isn’t the issue … he just needs to work on his precision. Throwing the ball downfield, he threw at players’ knees a few times, and sailed a couple as well. On swing routes, he was throwing behind guys a lot (shades of last year), while Forcier was doing a great job of hitting guys in stride and putting the ball ahead of them.

That’s about all I could glean out of today’s action, as (unfortunately) there wasn’t a Michigan drill today and I didn’t have time to wander over to the defensive side of the ball. However, all the guys from The Wolverine were there, and will be posting their impressions as well, so you should head over there if you want more. Practice photos after the jump:

Squad doing some pre-practice stretches.

Squad doing some pre-practice stretches.

Denard Robinson hands off to Vincent Smith.

Denard Robinson hands off to Vincent Smith as Coach Magee looks on.

Terrence Robinson fields a punt. He caught this one, but I couldnt help but notice that there were a few dropped punts today.

Terrence Robinson fields a punt. He caught this one, but I couldn't help but notice that there were a few dropped punts today.

My camera died on my soon after this, and the rest of my photos are either completely redundant or blurry as hell. I fail. Next time I’ll make sure to bring extra batteries.

1 comment
  1. Mikey said:

    So help us all that that punt returners can hold onto the ball this Fall….last year was disastrous at times for special teams.

Leave a Reply

