Blogpoll Roundtable: Week Two

Forcier vs. Barkley? For the spread, I'll take our guy.

Forcier vs. Barkley? For the spread, I'll take our guy.

Every week, one of the blogs participating in the Blogpoll posts a few questions for the other blogs to answer as they please. This week, College Game Balls hosted the roundtable, and I figured I’d throw my answers into the ring:

1. Which freshman impressed you more last weekend: the California dream Matt Barkley who quarterbacked USC over tOSU or white lightening Tate Forcier who slashed through Notre Dame? Which one would you like to have on your team? Feel free to write in another worth candidate.

Well, I’m certainly not a beacon of objectivity on this one, but it’s hard not to say Tate Forcier for Rich Rodriguez’s spread. In a few years, I fully expect Barkley to be a Heisman candidate and a great pro prospect, and I’m not sure Forcier will be on that level, but it’s all about fit in college football, and Forcier fits this team. Forcier definitely impressed me more last week, as he was charged with leading an offensive attack that had to keep up with Notre Dame, while Barkley merely had to manage the game and outscore an Ohio State team that was thoroughly out-schemed. That’s taking nothing away from Barkley: he played a very good game against a very good defense. However, Forcier had to do more.

2. Let’s play a game of pretend the unthinkable happened. Commissioner __________ of your conference has been forced to resign after he was caught canoodling with some harlots. Great news, you’ve been chosen to succeed him. To make your mark you decide to make a big change. What is it going to be?

I considered saying add a 12th team and created a conference championship game, but outside of Notre Dame (and that isn’t happening) there isn’t really a team that sticks out to me as one I’d like to see join the Big Ten. Instead, I’d push the start of the conference schedule back a week, so Big Ten teams have a game after Thanksgiving and therefore stay in the national spotlight as bowl season approaches. Also, I’d throw a giant party to celebrate the demise of Jim Delaney, and immediately vouch for a college football playoff system, but I don’t think that’s really answering the question here.

3. This week the quality of games is kicked up a gear. Other than your own, which game are you most looking forward to?

The first thing that came into my head was Florida-Tennessee, just because I want to see the Gators curb-stomp Lane Kiffin. However, I’m really looking forward to Thursday night’s matchup between Georgia Tech and Miami. The Canes’ Jacory Harris looked like a really special player against Florida State, and I always like watching the triple-option offense run by the Yellow Jackets. Also, the inevitable Tebow-suckling (I actually like Tebow, but I hate the constant slobbering of him) is a definite x-factor in this decision.

4. What mascot and/or tradition would you thieve from another school if it was socially acceptable.

This isn’t thieving from another school, but I’d love to bring back Biff, The (Live) Michigan Wolverine. Seriously, how awesome would it be to have a live wolverine prowling the sidelines in a cage, especially if we kept it behind the visitors bench. Talk about intimidation.

As for tradition, I’m going to piss off all the blue-hairs and suggest taking “Jump Around” from Wisconsin. I went to the ’07 game at Camp Randall, and that place shook. Now that we’re piping in music (which I like, for the record, as long as they keep playing “Lose Yourself”), we might as well have a signature song that sends the whole stadium into pandemonium.

1 comment
  1. Zac said:

    I feel like Mizzou or Pitt would be reasonable choices to join the big ten, both are at least as academically competent as an IU. And would immediately field upper middle tier football and basketball teams.

    As for bringing a live wolverine, I think no go, after looking at them at the Detroit zoo all they do is sleep. I think the mystique is more intimating than the actual animal.

Leave a Reply

